Search SBL

Status of Women in the Profession Outstanding Service in Mentoring Awards

Each year at the SBL Annual Meeting, CSWP honors women who have been excellent mentors to women in the field. These mentors have provided invaluable guidance, advice, and encouragement. They serve as role models and assist other women in navigating career choices, building professional networks, and developing strategies for personal growth and work-life balance. By virtue of their mentorship, they have taken us a step further in promoting gender equity, gender diversity, and women’s professional status in the field. CSWP honors mentors in order to recognize their contributions and to encourage mentoring relationships.

Recognizing that mentorship looks different in various cultural contexts, we invite members to nominate women who they see as outstanding mentors. This could include those who they see as going above and beyond for others, acting as role models, helping others to gain insight and confidence, providing substantive feedback and encouragement, opening up access to opportunities and professional development, and helping people to find intellectual homes in the field. We take an expansive view of mentorship, recognizing that a mentor does not necessarily have to be a doctoral advisor or sponsor, and can include mentors at all stages of their career. 

To nominate a member, please send your nomination with a descriptive letter of endorsement to Meira Kensky ( Your letter should include specific examples of how the mentor supported you and others in some of the ways outlined above (or other ways). We welcome letters written by multiple senders; letters should describe the impact the mentor has had on the nominator(s) over the course of their career. Nominations should be received by June 1. 

Please join us in congratulating the 2022 Status of Women in the Profession Mentor Award recipients:

      cswp-mentor-Harley-McGowan 2022     

Felicity Harley-McGowan is an art historian whose work centers on the origins and development of Christian iconography within the visual culture of Roman late antiquity. She has held research fellowships at the Warburg Institute, University of London, and the British School at Rome; and before coming to Yale was the Gerry Higgins Lecturer in Medieval Art History at the University of Melbourne. Felicity has a strong interest in the receptions of ancient art, including the histories of collecting, and objects inspire her teaching practice as well as research. Her publications have been focused on portable objects, including engraved gems, graffiti and amulets, and on iconographic traditions including depictions of suicide, the Passion, and the Salvator Mundi. Her ongoing research focus is the representation of violence, and she is currently preparing a book on the earliest images of crucifixion (ca. 200-600 AD).

      cswp-mentor-Najman 2022     

Hindy Najman is the Oriel and Laing Professor of the Interpretation of Holy Scripture at the University of Oxford.  She is also the director and founder of the Centre for the Study of the Bible.
Her research interests encompass Composition and Author Function; Construction and Imitation of Biblical Figures; Practices of Pseudepigraphy and Pseudonymous Attribution; Revelation, Divine Encounter and Prophecy; Idealized Sage and Perfectionism; Philology and Philological Practices; Diaspora and Exile; Authority and Tradition; Allegorical Interpretation and Midrash; Destruction and Recovery; Collection and Canon; the History of Biblical Interpretation; and Scholarly Practices of Reading the Bible and Biblical Traditions. She has written on the Hebrew Bible, the Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Literature and Pseudepigrapha.  Her publications include Losing the Temple and Recovering the Future: An Analysis of 4 Ezra,Past Renewals: Interpretive Authority, Renewed Revelation and the Quest for PerfectionSeconding Sinai: The Development of Mosaic Discourse in Second Temple Judaism, and a recent essay entitled “Ethical Reading: The Transformation of Text and Self.” She is currently completing a new book entitled: Reading Practices and the Vitality of Scripture (Oxford University Press).

      cswp-mentor-Vayntrub 2022     

Jacqueline Vayntrub is an Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible at Yale University in the Divinity School with appointments in Religious Studies and Judaic Studies. She was educated at the University of Chicago, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and UCLA. She is the author of Beyond Orality: Biblical Poetry on its Own Terms (Routledge, 2019) and numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals such as Harvard Theological Review, Journal of Biblical Literature, Vetus Testamentum, and Zeitschrift für die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft, as well as in edited collections. She is an editor of the Library of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Studies (T&T Clark), Studies in Cultural Contexts of the Bible (Brill), Metatron, a new peer-reviewed open-access journal, and associate editor of the International Critical Commentary (T&T Clark). She also runs Renewed Philology, an international working group of scholars in biblical studies whose work reflects critically on the intellectual frameworks brought to bear in philological practice. 


Past Mentor Award recipients include:

2021 - Mary Foskett
2020 - Devorah Dimant
2019 - Elizabeth A. Castelli and Beverly Roberts Gaventa
2018 - Karen H. Jobes
2017 - Eileen Schuller
2016 - Gale Yee
2015 - April DeConick
2014 - Ann Brock
2013 - Elizabeth Struthers Malbon and Cheryl Kirk-Duggan
2012 - Helen R. Graham, M.M.
2011 - Barbara Reid and Musa Dube
2010 - Adele Reinhartz and Pamela Milne
2009 - Kathleen O'Brien Wicker 
2008 - Carol Meyers
2007 - Sharon Ringe
2006 - Marion Taylor and Donna Dykes
2005 - Mary Rose D'Angelo, Toni Craven, and Carol Newsom
2004 - Carolyn Osiek and Rebecca Idelstrom
2003 - Susan Hollis, Adele Reinhartz and Katharine Doob Sakenfeld
2002 - Athalya Brenner, Adela Yarbro Collins, Joanne Dewey, Ross Kraemer, and Phyllis Trible
2001 - Agneta Enermalm Tsiparis and Amy-Jill Levine


More information on the Status of Women in the Profession committee



© 2023, Society of Biblical Literature. All Rights Reserved.